Skip to main content

Dr. Michael B. Paulsen

Michael Paulsen
University of Iowa

Michael B. Paulsen is Professor Emeritus of Higher Education & Student Affairs at The University of Iowa. His scholarly work has focused on: (a) economics, finance and policy in higher education; and (b) teaching, learning and curriculum in higher education. Prior to his faculty appointment at The University of Iowa, he was first a professor of economics at Coe College and St. Ambrose University; and then he was a professor of higher education at the Universities of Illinois, Alabama and New Orleans.

He is Series Editor of the annual volumes of the scholarly books series, Higher Education: Handbook of Theory and Research, and served on the editorial boards of Research in Higher Education, College Teaching and the ASHE Higher Education Report Series.  Professor Paulsen’s books include College Choice: Understanding Student Enrollment BehaviorEconomics of Higher Education (w/R. Toutkoushian); Teaching and Learning in the College Classroom (w/K. Feldman); The Finance of Higher Education (w/J. Smart); Taking Teaching Seriously (w/K. Feldman); and Applying Economics to Institutional Research (w/R. Toutkoushian). His research has been published in an array of professional journals, such as The Journal of Higher Education, Research in Higher Education, The Review of Higher Education, Economics of Education Review, Journal of Education Finance, Educational Evaluation & Policy Analysis, Journal of College Student Development, and Teaching in Higher Education.

Professor Paulsen was on the Board of Directors for the Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE), served as Chair of the Budget for ASHE, and served on the Executive Council of the American Educational Research Association's Division J. In 2010, Dr. Paulsen was ranked in the top 20 of most cited individuals in the core journals of higher education. In 2015, he received the Research Achievement Award from the Association for the Study of Higher Education; and in 2017, he was the recipient of the Collegiate Teaching Award from the University of Iowa's College of Education.